(r)e v o l v e

(r)evolve was the ausglass conference held in Canberra, Australia, 26-29 Janaury 2017.  Ausglass is the principal body promoting contemporary glass in Australia. The conference brought together Australian and international glass artists, educators, collectors, enthusiasts and industry representatives in a program of presentations, demonstrations, workshops and exhibitions that focused on the conference themes: create, sustain and evolve.

2017 Vicki Torr Memorial Prize - $8,000

The Vicki Torr Memorial Fund was first established in 1993 as a memorial to Australian glass artist, Vicki Torr (1949-1992). Its purpose is to reflect Vicki’s life and work by encouraging excellence in Australian studio glass through the Vicki Torr Memorial Prize.

The Vicki Torr Memorial Prize (A$8,000) is peer-selected at the 2017 Ausglass Conference exhibition. The 2017 Conference exhibition will be held in the Gallery of the ANU School of Art. This event is a fantastic opportunity for glass artists to participate in a national exhibition that will be viewed by curators and major galleries from around Australia.

All Ausglass members and non-members were invited to display their work in the exhibition. Only Ausglass members are eligible for the Vicki Torr Memorial Prize.  All works submitted into the exhibition must be:

  • Predominantly made from glass
  • Made within the18 months prior to the exhibition
  • The artist’s original work

The Vicki Torr Memorial Prize winner is selected from votes cast by Ausglass Members attending the exhibition and was announced at the ausglass AGM of the 2017 Ausglass Conference, Sunday 29 January 2017.  

Congratulations CLARE PETERS!


The Sabbia Exhibition Award is an important opportunity offered in conjunction with the 18th Ausglass Conference -  (r)evolve: Create, Sustain, Evolve - held in Canberra 26-29 January 2017.  Sabbia Gallery has become Sydney's premier commercial gallery specialising in the exhibition and representation of Australia and New Zealand's foremost contemporary studio glass and  ceramic artists.  The gallery's annual major glass exhibition, the 2017 edition titled ‘Review – Masters of Glass 2017’, is open 25 January to 25 February 2017. 

Previous winners of this award are Minoru Shimomura(2008), Lee Mathers and Ruth Oliphant(2009), Yusuke Takemura(2011), Zoe Woods(2013) and John White in 2015.

The winner of the Sabbia Exhibition Award has the opportunity to participate in a solo exhibition, late in 2018, at Sabbia Gallery in Sydney. This Award includes a mentoring program with curatorial staff, who will work with and support the recipient in the lead-up to their exhibition.

The Award is presented to an artist who is either ‘emerging’ (that is, five years or less of professional experience) or an artist at student level, who demonstrates a devotion to contemporary studio glass, and displays innovation in their work.

The Sabbia Exhibition Award was selected by Sabbia Gallery Directors Anna Grigson and Maria Grimaldi from amongst the pieces exhibited at the 2017 Ausglass Conference Exhibition and was announced at the opening night of the exhibition on Thursday January 26, 2017.

Congratulations to HANNAH GASON!


2017 Vicki Torr Online Gallery Prize for Emerging Artists - $2,000

The Vicki Torr Online Gallery Prize is an annual prize for emerging artists. It is a peer-selected prize that is voted by members through the Ausglass Online Gallery at www.ausglass.org.au.

Through this prize Ausglass aims to encourage and support emerging glass artists as well as increase their public profile by placing photographic examples of their work in the Ausglass Online Gallery. With the new Ausglass website being launched in November this is a fantastic opportunity for an international audience to view emerging glass artists online.

Entrants for the Vicki Torr Online gallery prize must:

  • Be ‘emerging’ artists – artists having 5 years or less professional experience (students are also encouraged to apply).
  • Be a current Ausglass member.
  • Have placed photographic images of their work with a 1 page CV on the Ausglass Online Gallery by **date**.
  • Not be a previous winner of the Vicki Torr Online Gallery Prize.

The 2017 Vicki Torr Online Gallery Prize was announced alongside the 2017 Vicki Torr Memorial Prize at the ausglass AGM held on Sunday 29 January 2017 in the course of the 2017 Ausglass Conference in Canberra, 

Congratulations to JENNY BUSH!